Album Details

EMI Music Distribution
Latin, Samba, MPB, Brazilian Pop, Brazilian Traditions

Album Review

One of Milton Nascimento's most experimental albums, Milagre Dos Peixes was originally released in 1974. Accompanied by the Som Imaginário, Nascimento presented this album in a theater show in Rio and São Paulo, with orchestra, and the result live recorded and released on a double album called Milagre Dos Peixes Ao Vivo. In one of the worst periods of military dictatorship, all lyrics were systematically censored, the reason why the album is instrumental. Not entirely, to be sure. He can be heard crying "Eu Tô Cansado" (I Am Tired), and he also sings the lyrics of "Sacramento," having the boy Nico Borges delivering "Pablo" with that mixture, so dear to Nascimento, of a poor boy's ingenuity filled with a religious aura. It can be said that this album was especially suited for the talents of Naná Vasconcellos, who adds so much life to it. A must-have classic.
Alvaro Neder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Os Escravos de Jó
  2. Carlos, Lúcia, Chico E Tiago
  3. Milagre Dos Peixes
  4. A Chamada
  5. Cadè-/Canto: Nico E Telo
  6. Pablo II
  7. Tema Dos Deuses
  8. Hoje É Dia de el-Rey
  9. Última Sessao de Musica
  10. Sacramento
  11. Pablo-Canto: Nico