Album Details

Vocal Music, Vocal Pop, French Pop, Cabaret, Pop

Album Review

A massive undertaking, Quand On N'a Que l'Amour reissues in roughly chronological order, on ten compact discs, all of the material recorded by Jacques Brel for Barclay and PolyGram between 1955 and 1972 -- basically his entire career, except for the album recorded one year before his death. From Brel's earliest recordings -- including his first hit, the title track -- on volume one (subtitled "Grand Jacques"), the box moves into his peak period, the late '50s and early '60s, with famous songs like "Ne Me Quitte Pas," "La Valse à Mille Temps," "Les Vieux," "Jef," "Mathilde," and "La Chanson de Jacky." A pair of highlights are the two live albums Brel recorded at the Olympia, Paris, one in 1961 and another in 1964; both are masterpieces of dramatic yet often ironic French pop. In sum, though this enormous box set is obviously no place to begin for neophytes, the collection does indeed offer more experienced fans a lot of room to grow into Jacques Brel's music. And though Brel's charms are difficult to understand, especially for those with a language barrier to cope with, his dynamic singing and playful arrangements make a difficult task much easier.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Quand on N'A Que l'Amour
  2. Grand Jacques (C'Est Trop Facile)
  3. La Valse À Mille Temps
  4. Ne Me Quitte Pas
  5. Les Flamandes
  6. Le Plat Pays
  7. Isabelle
  8. Je Ne Sais Pas
  9. L' Ivrogne
  10. Les Biches
  11. Rosa
  12. Les Bourgeois
  13. Madeleine
  14. Bruxelles
  15. Les Bigotes
  16. Les Bonbons
  17. Les Bonbons 67
  18. Jef
  19. Mathilde
  20. Les Vieux
  21. Au Suivant
  22. Fernand
  23. La Chanson de Jacky
  24. Ces Gens-Lá
  25. Mon Enfance
  26. La Chanson des Vieux Amants
  27. Vesoul
  28. J'Arrive
  29. Les Coeurs Tendres
  30. L' Enfance
  31. Le Moribond
  32. Le Dernier Repas
  33. La Quete
  34. Amsterdam
  35. Orly
  36. La Ville S'Endormait
  37. Les Marquises