Album Details

February 04, 2008
Beat Goes On
Jazz, Progressive Jazz

Album Review

Very Alive at Ronnie Scott's is the European version of the 1972 U.S. single-LP called Buddy Rich in London . In England and in the rest of Europe it was released as a double album and that is reflected in this beautifully remastered double-CD by BGO. The 1972 lineup of Rich's band featured arrangements by no less than Oliver Nelson and Herbie Phillips. The main soloist (beside the drummer himself) is saxophonist/flutist Pat La Barbera, with big contributions from trombonist Bruce Paulson, pianist Bob Dogan, and trumpeter Lin Biviano. Other bandmembers include saxophonists Joe Calo and Jimmy Mosher, master conguero Candido, and guitarist David Spinozza. "That's Enough" is a lone vocal number for Kathy Rich and Michelle and Carlene Hendricks, and it's a barn burner. Other highlights include "Dancing Men," "Two Bass Hit," "Little Train," "Milestones," and "In a Mellow Tone." This baby is a smoker from start to finish.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Moments Notice
  2. Watson's Walk
  3. St. Marks Square (A Special Day)
  4. Little Train
  5. Milestones
  6. The Words
  7. Dancing Men
  8. Just Buddy Rich [Spoken Word]
  9. Superstar
  10. Love Story
  11. In a Mellow Tone
  12. Two Bass Hit
  13. Buddy Rich Introduces [Spoken Word]
  14. That's Enough
  15. Time Being
  16. Buddy Rich Again [Spoken Word]
purchase full album