Album Details

RELEASE
1984
LABEL
SST
GENRES
Pop/Rock, College Rock, American Underground, Punk, Hardcore Punk, Punk/New Wave, Alternative/Indie Rock, Post-Punk, Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

If What Makes a Man Start Fires? was a remarkable step forward from the Minutemen's promising debut album, The Punch Line, then Double Nickels on the Dime was a quantum leap into greatness, a sprawling 44-song set that was as impressive as it was ambitious. While punk rock was obviously the starting point for the Minutemen's musical journey (which they celebrated on the funny and moving "History Lesson Part II"), by this point the group seemed up for almost anything -- D. Boon's guitar work suggested the adventurous melodic sense of jazz tempered with the bite and concision of punk rock, while Mike Watt's full-bodied bass was the perfect foil for Boon's leads and drummer George Hurley possessed a snap and swing that would be the envy of nearly any band. In the course of Double Nickels on the Dime's four sides, the band tackles leftist punk ("Political Song for Michael Jackson to Sing"), Spanish guitar workouts ("Cohesion"), neo-Nortena polka ("Corona"), blues-based laments ("Jesus and Tequila"), avant-garde exercises ("Mr. Robot's Holy Orders"), and even a stripped-to-the-frame Van Halen cover ("Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love"). From start to finish, the Minutemen play and sing with an estimable intelligence and unshakable conviction, and the album is full of striking moments that cohere into a truly remarkable whole; all three members write with smarts, good humor, and an eye for the adventurous, and they hit pay dirt with startling frequency. And if Ethan James' production is a bit Spartan, it's also efficient, cleaner than their work with Spot, and captures the performances with clarity (and without intruding upon the band's ideas). Simply put, Double Nickels on the Dime was the finest album of the Minutemen's career, and one of the very best American rock albums of the 1980s.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. D.'s Car Jam/Anxious Mo-Fohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Theatre Is the Life of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/theatre-is-the-life-of-you/id117012391?i=117009898&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Viet Namhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/viet-nam/id117012391?i=117009963&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Cohesionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cohesion/id117012391?i=117010073&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. It's Expected I'm Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-expected-im-gone/id117012391?i=117010142&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. #1 Hit Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/1-hit-song/id117012391?i=117010231&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Two Beads at the Endhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/two-beads-at-the-end/id117012391?i=117010299&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Do You Want New Wave or Do You Want the Truth?http://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Don't Look Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dont-look-now/id117012391?i=117010452&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Shit from an Old Notebookhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shit-from-an-old-notebook/id117012391?i=117010518&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Nature Without Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nature-without-man/id117012391?i=117010572&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. One Reporters Opinionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/one-reporters-opinion/id117012391?i=117010688&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Political Song for Michael Jackson to Singhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/political-song-for-michael/id117012391?i=117010755&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Maybe Partying Will Helphttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maybe-partying-will-help/id117012391?i=117010801&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Toadieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/toadies/id117012391?i=117010844&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Retreathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/retreat/id117012391?i=117010876&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. The Big Foisthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-big-foist/id117012391?i=117010896&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. God Bows to Mathhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/god-bows-to-math/id117012391?i=117010991&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Coronahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/corona/id117012391?i=117011026&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. The Glory of Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-glory-of-man/id117012391?i=117011111&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. Take 5, D.http://itunes.apple.com/album/take-5-d/id117012391?i=117011142&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. My Heart and the Real Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-heart-and-the-real-world/id117012391?i=117011178&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. History Lesson, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. You Need the Gloryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-need-the-glory/id117012391?i=117011333&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. The Roar of the Masses Could Be Fartshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-roar-masses-could-be-farts/id117012391?i=117011423&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. West Germanyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/west-germany/id117012391?i=117011494&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  27. The Politics of Timehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-politics-of-time/id117012391?i=117011603&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  28. Themselveshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/themselves/id117012391?i=117011628&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  29. Please Don't Be Gentle With Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/please-dont-be-gentle-with-me/id117012391?i=117011763&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  30. Nothing Indeedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nothing-indeed/id117012391?i=117011789&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  31. No Exchangehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/no-exchange/id117012391?i=117011856&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  32. There Ain't Shit on T.V. Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/there-aint-shit-on-t-v-tonight/id117012391?i=117011895&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  33. This Ain't No Picnichttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-aint-no-picnic/id117012391?i=117011964&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  34. Spillagehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/spillage/id117012391?i=117012100&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  35. Untitled Song for Latin Americahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/untitled-song-for-latin-america/id117012391?i=117012146&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  36. Jesus and Tequilahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/jesus-and-tequila/id117012391?i=117012198&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  37. June 16thhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/june-16th/id117012391?i=117012221&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  38. Storm in My Househttp://itunes.apple.com/album/storm-in-my-house/id117012391?i=117012240&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  39. Martin's Storyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/martins-story/id117012391?i=117012258&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  40. Doctor Wuhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  41. The World According to Nounshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-world-according-to-nouns/id117012391?i=117012306&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  42. Love Dancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-dance/id117012391?i=117012332&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  43. Three Car Jamhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/three-car-jam/id117012391?i=117012379&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album