Album Details

RELEASE
1984
LABEL
SST
GENRES
Pop/Rock, College Rock, American Underground, Punk, Hardcore Punk, Punk/New Wave, Alternative/Indie Rock, Post-Punk, Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

If What Makes a Man Start Fires? was a remarkable step forward from the Minutemen's promising debut album, The Punch Line, then Double Nickels on the Dime was a quantum leap into greatness, a sprawling 44-song set that was as impressive as it was ambitious. While punk rock was obviously the starting point for the Minutemen's musical journey (which they celebrated on the funny and moving "History Lesson Part II"), by this point the group seemed up for almost anything -- D. Boon's guitar work suggested the adventurous melodic sense of jazz tempered with the bite and concision of punk rock, while Mike Watt's full-bodied bass was the perfect foil for Boon's leads and drummer George Hurley possessed a snap and swing that would be the envy of nearly any band. In the course of Double Nickels on the Dime's four sides, the band tackles leftist punk ("Political Song for Michael Jackson to Sing"), Spanish guitar workouts ("Cohesion"), neo-Nortena polka ("Corona"), blues-based laments ("Jesus and Tequila"), avant-garde exercises ("Mr. Robot's Holy Orders"), and even a stripped-to-the-frame Van Halen cover ("Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love"). From start to finish, the Minutemen play and sing with an estimable intelligence and unshakable conviction, and the album is full of striking moments that cohere into a truly remarkable whole; all three members write with smarts, good humor, and an eye for the adventurous, and they hit pay dirt with startling frequency. And if Ethan James' production is a bit Spartan, it's also efficient, cleaner than their work with Spot, and captures the performances with clarity (and without intruding upon the band's ideas). Simply put, Double Nickels on the Dime was the finest album of the Minutemen's career, and one of the very best American rock albums of the 1980s.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. D.'s Car Jam/Anxious Mo-Fohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5
  2. Theatre Is the Life of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/theatre-is-the-life-of-you/id117012391?i=117009898&uo=5
  3. Viet Namhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/viet-nam/id117012391?i=117009963&uo=5
  4. Cohesionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cohesion/id117012391?i=117010073&uo=5
  5. It's Expected I'm Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-expected-im-gone/id117012391?i=117010142&uo=5
  6. #1 Hit Songhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/1-hit-song/id117012391?i=117010231&uo=5
  7. Two Beads at the Endhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/two-beads-at-the-end/id117012391?i=117010299&uo=5
  8. Do You Want New Wave or Do You Want the Truth?http://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5
  9. Don't Look Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dont-look-now/id117012391?i=117010452&uo=5
  10. Shit from an Old Notebookhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shit-from-an-old-notebook/id117012391?i=117010518&uo=5
  11. Nature Without Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nature-without-man/id117012391?i=117010572&uo=5
  12. One Reporters Opinionhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/one-reporters-opinion/id117012391?i=117010688&uo=5
  13. Political Song for Michael Jackson to Singhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/political-song-for-michael/id117012391?i=117010755&uo=5
  14. Maybe Partying Will Helphttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maybe-partying-will-help/id117012391?i=117010801&uo=5
  15. Toadieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/toadies/id117012391?i=117010844&uo=5
  16. Retreathttp://itunes.apple.com/album/retreat/id117012391?i=117010876&uo=5
  17. The Big Foisthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-big-foist/id117012391?i=117010896&uo=5
  18. God Bows to Mathhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/god-bows-to-math/id117012391?i=117010991&uo=5
  19. Coronahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/corona/id117012391?i=117011026&uo=5
  20. The Glory of Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-glory-of-man/id117012391?i=117011111&uo=5
  21. Take 5, D.http://itunes.apple.com/album/take-5-d/id117012391?i=117011142&uo=5
  22. My Heart and the Real Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-heart-and-the-real-world/id117012391?i=117011178&uo=5
  23. History Lesson, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5
  24. You Need the Gloryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-need-the-glory/id117012391?i=117011333&uo=5
  25. The Roar of the Masses Could Be Fartshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-roar-masses-could-be-farts/id117012391?i=117011423&uo=5
  26. West Germanyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/west-germany/id117012391?i=117011494&uo=5
  27. The Politics of Timehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-politics-of-time/id117012391?i=117011603&uo=5
  28. Themselveshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/themselves/id117012391?i=117011628&uo=5
  29. Please Don't Be Gentle With Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/please-dont-be-gentle-with-me/id117012391?i=117011763&uo=5
  30. Nothing Indeedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nothing-indeed/id117012391?i=117011789&uo=5
  31. No Exchangehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/no-exchange/id117012391?i=117011856&uo=5
  32. There Ain't Shit on T.V. Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/there-aint-shit-on-t-v-tonight/id117012391?i=117011895&uo=5
  33. This Ain't No Picnichttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-aint-no-picnic/id117012391?i=117011964&uo=5
  34. Spillagehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/spillage/id117012391?i=117012100&uo=5
  35. Untitled Song for Latin Americahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/untitled-song-for-latin-america/id117012391?i=117012146&uo=5
  36. Jesus and Tequilahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/jesus-and-tequila/id117012391?i=117012198&uo=5
  37. June 16thhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/june-16th/id117012391?i=117012221&uo=5
  38. Storm in My Househttp://itunes.apple.com/album/storm-in-my-house/id117012391?i=117012240&uo=5
  39. Martin's Storyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/martins-story/id117012391?i=117012258&uo=5
  40. Doctor Wuhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/double-nickels-on-the-dime/id117012391?uo=5
  41. The World According to Nounshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-world-according-to-nouns/id117012391?i=117012306&uo=5
  42. Love Dancehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-dance/id117012391?i=117012332&uo=5
  43. Three Car Jamhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/three-car-jam/id117012391?i=117012379&uo=5
purchase full album