Album Details

August 18, 2008
Warner Music
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Arena Rock, Rock & Roll, Southern Rock, Hard Rock, Boogie Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

Packaged in a crummy slipcase are two individual titles that every hardcore ZZ Top fan either owns or has. Warner Music in the U.K. must have had boatloads of copies of Afterburner sitting on the shelf and this was one way they could conceive of getting rid of them -- by packaging them with the band's most successful album (and the peak of their creativity). In the good old vinyl days, labels would just cut out a title that didn't sell and push them off on a distributor that would deep discount them to record stores, department stores, and even five and dime joints. In any case, it's hard to imagine anyone who is old enough to remember these records in the first place not having them already. The Warner U.K. versions have no bonus material, but they are remastered and superior in sound. But here's a hint: for less money you can snag a perfectly fine edition of Eliminator and forget Afterburner altogether.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sleeping Bag
  2. Stages
  3. Woke Up with Wood
  4. Rough Boy
  5. Can't Stop Rockin'
  6. Planet of Women
  7. I Got the Message
  8. Velcro Fly
  9. Dipping Low (In the Lap of Luxury)
  10. Delirious
  11. Gimme All Your Lovin'
  12. Got Me Under Pressure
  13. Sharp Dressed Man
  14. I Need You Tonight
  15. I Got the Six
  16. Legs
  17. Thug
  18. TV Dinners
  19. Dirty Dog
  20. If I Could Only Flag Her Down
  21. Bad Girl