Album Details

Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Black Gospel, Gospel

Album Review

Madacy doesn't exactly have a great reputation for putting out stellar compilations or serious artist retrospectives. They often cut corners, issue too few tracks, and provide sketchy liner notes at best. In this case, however, they've done a respectable job of assembling the best cuts the Staple Singers recorded for Stax between 1971 and 1974. In fact, what it is -- in rather random order -- is about half their output for the label. All of the big hits are here, such as "Respect Yourself," "I'll Take You There," and "Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom Boom)," with a boatload of quality stuff in between. These are the original studio recordings, not live filler, and none of them are re-recorded either. In fact, though the Staples had terrific years with King, United Artists, Epic, and Warner, it was their years with Stax that defined them in the 1970s as a transformational force on the charts. This is really cheap, so snag it before it drifts out of print.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. This World
  2. Respect Yourself
  3. Name the Missing Word
  4. I'll Take You There
  5. This Old Town (People in This Town)
  6. We the People
  7. Are You Sure
  8. Who Do You Think You Are (Jesus Christ Superstar)?
  9. I'm Just Another Soldier
  10. Who
  11. Be What You Are
  12. If You're Ready (Come Go with Me)
  13. Medley: Love Comes in All Colors/Tellin' Lies [Medley]
  14. Touch a Hand, Make a Friend
  15. Drown Yourself
  16. I Ain't Raisin' No Sand
  17. Grandma's Hands
  18. Bridges Instead of Walls
  19. I'm on Your Side
  20. That's What Friends Are For
  21. Heaven
  22. This Is a Perfect World
  23. What's Your Thing
  24. You've Got to Earn It
  25. You're Gonna Make Me Cry
  26. Little Boy
  27. How Do You Move a Mountain
  28. Almost
  29. I'm a Lover
  30. Love Is Plentiful
  31. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom Boom)
  32. I Like the Things About You
  33. Give a Hand -- Take a Hand
purchase full album