Album Details

Jazz, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, Jazz-Funk, Fusion, Saxophone Jazz

Album Review

One of Sonny Rollins' better recordings of the 1970s, this spirited Milestone set (reissued on CD under the Original Jazz Classics imprint) finds the veteran tenor saxman adopting a thicker and raunchier R&B-ish tone. Although sticking close to the melody, he really tears into Stevie Wonder's "Isn't She Lovely" and finds interesting new variations to play on "My One and Only Love" (on soprano) and "Easy Living." The fine backup group includes keyboardist George Duke and drummer Tony Williams.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Isn't She Lovely
  2. Down the Line
  3. My One and Only Love
  4. Arroz con Pollo
  5. Easy Living
  6. Hear What I'm Saying
purchase full album