Album Details

November 23, 1993
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, East Coast Rap, Alternative/Indie Rock, Funk Metal, Hard Rock, Soundtracks

Album Review

MTV hit pay dirt in the mid-'90s with one of the freshest and funniest shows of the era, Beavis and Butt-Head. Because of the music-heavy format of the show, an album was one of the logical steps for creator Mike Judge. And The Beavis and Butt-Head Experience is one of the few cases where the hilarious formula of the show translates well to album. The skits in between songs are all very funny, featuring Judge's characters bumbling their way through run-ins with Anthrax, Run-D.M.C., and Cher, and rating the other songs. And Judge is fortunate that these skits work as well as they do because at times they are necessary to carry the listener's attention. Songs by Jackyl, Sir Mix-A-Lot, and even Run-D.M.C. are dull and drag the album down. Even an appearance by the Red Hot Chili Peppers only leads to a limp and hollow cover of the Stooges' classic "Search and Destroy." Still, the album features a fantastic track by Nirvana, one of the last songs released before Kurt Cobain's suicide. Anthrax, Primus, and White Zombie also add solid contributions that do the show's testosterone-worshipping vibe justice. But most interesting is Cher's duet with the cartoon pair, a reworking of "I Got You Babe." Throughout the song, the duo decide they need a "chick who's older, who's done it a bunch of times," then proposition Cher by making fun of her ex-husband Sonny Bono. Any fan of the series will probably enjoy the album, and most of the tracks are not the typical B-sides fare. Just be warned that the album has a few duds, and anyone not familiar with the show may be lost on some of the humor.
Bradley Torreano, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Hate Myself and Want to Die
  2. Looking Down the Barrel of a Gun
  3. Come to Butt-Head
  4. 99 Ways to Die
  5. Bounce
  6. Deuces Are Wild
  7. I Am Hell
  8. Poetry and Prose
  9. Monsta Mack
  10. Search and Destroy
  11. Mental *@%#!
  12. I Got You Babe/Come to Butt-Head Reprise