Album Details

October 12, 2010
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Blues-Rock

Album Review

Released in 2010, Playlist has several of Janis Joplin's biggest hits and signature songs -- "Piece of My Heart," "Mercedes Benz," "Me and Bobby McGee," "Down on Me" -- but the entire purpose of the Playlist series is to dig a little deeper, and so this 14-track budget-line disc does, selecting some lesser-known album tracks and five live cuts to draw a fuller portrait of Joplin. Although it certainly doesn't paint as rich a portrait as a full box set, this collection of hits and relatively obscure cuts is a well-chosen, entertaining sampler.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Down On Me
  2. Catch Me Daddy [Live]
  3. Call On Me [Live]
  4. I Need A Man To Love
  5. Summertime [Alternate Take]
  6. Piece Of My Heart
  7. Maybe [Live]
  8. Dear Landlord
  9. One Good Man
  10. Raise Your Hand [Live]
  11. Little Girl Blue [Live]
  12. Mercedes Benz
  13. Move Over [Live]
  14. Me And Bobby McGee
  15. [CD-ROM Track] [Multimedia Track]