Album Details

November 21, 2011
EMI Catalogue
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Singer/Songwriter, Hard Rock, Album Rock, Detroit Rock, Heartland Rock

Album Review

Take note that this 2011 double-disc collection is billed not as the best of Bob Seger, it's the best of Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band -- a rule the compilers immediately bend in two directions by including the Bob Seger System's 1968 debut single "Ramblin' Gamblin’ Man" (in its mono mix, collectors note) and "Wait for Me" from Seger's 2006 comeback Face the Promise. Along with two unreleased cuts -- a reworking of Little Richard's "Hey Hey Hey Hey" subtitled "Going Back to Birmingham" and originally cut in 1989, a perfectly fine cover that's overshadowed by the first release of Seger's version of Tom Waits' "Downtown Train," which he scrapped after Rod Stewart had a hit with a suspiciously similar arrangement -- and "Katmandu," a cut from 1975’s Beautiful Loser that rightly gets grandfathered into the prime of the Silver Bullet Band, those are the only songs cut outside of Seger's golden decade of 1976-1987. Much of Seger's previous two hits collections is repeated here -- all but three of the 14 songs from 1994's Greatest Hits (two of the absent numbers are naturally the comp's newly recorded bonus cuts) and half of the 16 tunes from 2003's Greatest Hits, Vol. 2 are here -- and while there are certainly strong songs missing, whether it's "Sunspot Baby" or "Understanding," this has all the giant hits in a tidy, thoroughly entertaining package.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Old Time Rock & Roll
  2. Hollywood Nights
  3. Night Moves
  4. Mainstreet
  5. Roll Me Away
  6. Turn the Page [Live] [Live]
  7. Her Strut
  8. Still the Same
  9. You'll Accomp'ny Me
  10. We've Got Tonight
  11. Like a Rock
  12. Fire Lake
  13. Tryin' to Live My Life Without You [Live] [Live]
  14. Rock and Roll Never Forgets
  15. Against the Wind
  16. Ramblin' Gamblin' Man
  17. The Fire Down Below
  18. Travelin' Man [Live]
  19. Beautiful Loser [Live]
  20. Shakedown
  21. Shame on the Moon
  22. Katmandu
  23. Little Drummer Boy
  24. Wait for Me
  25. Hey Hey Hey Hey (Going Back to Birmingham)
  26. Downtown Train
purchase full album