Album Details

November 21, 1995
Def Jam
Rap, Pop-Rap, East Coast Rap

Album Review

On the strength of the slow-burning Boyz II Men duet "Hey Lover," LL Cool J returned to the top of the charts with Mr. Smith, meaning the album is somewhat of a comeback for the veteran rapper. LL Cool J's skills had never deserted him, but his previous album, 14 Shots to the Dome, was an exercise in hardcore that only worked in fits and spurts. There are a couple of hard moments on Mr. Smith, but the album is at its most successful when he concentrates on his seductive, romantic side. LL has gotten a bit dirtier since the teenage days of "I Need Love," but he never steps over into the explicit, lewd come-ons of R. Kelly, preferring to suggest everything with a series of double entendres, metaphors, and analogies. Mr. Smith isn't a perfect record -- there are too many slack moments for it to qualify as one of his best -- but it proves that LL Cool J remained vital a decade after his debut.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Intro (Skit)
  2. Make It Hot
  3. Hip Hop
  4. Hey Lover
  5. Doin It
  6. Life as...
  7. I Shot Ya
  8. Mr. Smith
  9. No Airplay
  10. Loungin
  11. Hollis to Hollywood
  12. God Bless
  13. Get da Drop on 'Em
  14. Prelude (Skit)
  15. I Shot Ya [Remix]
purchase full album