Album Details

October 11, 2011
Rhythm & Blues, Adult Contemporary R&B

Album Review

Despite his activity in New Edition, LSG, and his duets with Stacy Lattisaw, it’s hard to believe that Johnny Gill -- who has been making records since 1983 -- is on only his sixth solo album. Now on the boutique label Notifi, distributed by Fontana, Gill nonetheless works with some of the more established names in R&B, including Troy Taylor, Johnta Austin, Bryan-Michael Cox, and longtime associates Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis. There’s an eyebrow-raising ballad with LSG mate Keith Sweat and Eddie Levert (father of late LSG member Gerald), produced by the late Static Major; it’s one of the album’s highlights. Throughout the album -- the first half especially -- an all-male array of background and co-lead vocalists is prominent enough to make a listener wonder if Gill has formed a new group. It’s most jarring on the title track, an obvious attempt to fit in with mainstream R&B radio. Those who are drawn to Gill’s ballads will find a few songs to enjoy, including the sparse piano/falsetto number “2nd Place."
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Still Winning
  2. Let's Stay Together
  3. In the Mood
  4. Just the Way You Are
  5. Black Box
  6. Long, Long Time
  7. 2nd Place
  8. Who Is He
  9. It Would Be You
  10. My Love
purchase full album