Album Details

Sony Music Distribution
Vocal Music, Free Jazz, Traditional Pop

Album Review

Following his stint as the lead vocalist in the Jan Garber Band during the late '40s, Don Cherry embarked on a solo career, pursuing an appealingly lush contemporary vocal pop directions, working with such conductors as Percy Faith and Ray Conniff. He recorded for Decca before moving to Columbia, where he had a handful of hits in 1956, just before rock & roll came along and forced his style of music off the charts. Sony Music Special Products' Love Is Just Around the Corner falls short of being a definitive retrospecitve of Cherry's brief time in the sun on Columbia -- as a budget-priced compilation, it really couldn't be definitive simply because of its ten-track limit -- but it is a nice sampler, offering his biggest hit, "Band of Gold," and the minor hits "I'll Be Around" and "I'm Still a King to You," as well as a selection of lesser-known singles and album cuts. It would have been nice if the compilers had decided to include all six of his charting hits for the label, but it remains an enjoyable listen, and given the dearth of Cherry product on the market, the best available compilation of his work for Columbia.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Band of Gold
  2. Be My Darling Once Again
  3. If I Had My Druthers [From Lil' Abner]
  4. The Last Dance
  5. Fifty Million Salty Kisses (And One Phony Hug)
  6. I'll Be Around
  7. Tell It to Me Again
  8. I'm Still a King to You
  9. I Look for a Love
  10. Love Is Just Around the Corner