Album Details

World, Celtic, Contemporary Celtic

Album Review

Not to be confused with the 1980s R&B/dance music diva Shannon, the artist heard on Celtic Classics is Irish film and TV composer Honan Hardiman (who was living near Dublin when the CD came out in 1995). The album offers a new age take on Irish and Celtic music, and to some Irishmen, that may sound like blasphemy. But in fact, Celtic Classics is more substantial than some might assume. Far from breathtaking but surprisingly likable at times, Shanon's Celtic-influenced originals and his new age arrangements of time-honored songs ranging from "Spancil Hill" and "Kathleen" to "Loch Lomond" and "Carrickfergus" do have a certain charm. Some may cringe at the very thought of "Danny Boy" being heard in an electronic new age setting, but Shanon's version is pleasantly enjoyable, even if you don't care for most new age recordings.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Bridge's Ode
  2. Carrickfergus
  3. Spancil Hill
  4. Danny Boy
  5. Pulcherimma
  6. Kathleen
  7. Kildare Lights
  8. Slieve Na Man
  9. Emerald Grace
  10. Caledonia
  11. Loch Lomond
  12. Tara Tain
  13. Music of Kells