Album Details

May 22, 2012
Rockbeat Records
Blues, Chicago Blues, Electric Chicago Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Electric Blues, Modern Electric Chicago Blues, Regional Blues

Album Review

"Raw" is not an understatement. The audio on RockBeat's 2012 release Raw Blues: Magic Sam 1969 is muddy and ragged, sounding like a bootleg because that's essentially what it is: an audience tape from December 1, 1969, recorded just five short months before Magic Sam's death. It may be raw -- some may find it too murky to listen to over an extended period -- but Magic Sam is in fiery form and his guitar pierces through the gunk, sounding limber, alive, and electric. And considering that there are not so many official recordings left behind by Magic Sam, this warts-and-all live set is worthwhile for the devoted.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. San-Ho-Zay
  2. All Of Your Love
  3. You Don't Love Me
  4. You Were Wrong
  5. Mama, Talk To Your Daughter
  6. I Need You So Bad
  7. I Feel So Good
  8. Strange Things Happening
  9. Tremble
  10. That's All I Need
  11. I Don't Want No Woman
  12. I Got Papers On You, Baby
  13. Looking Good
  14. You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now
  15. Just Pickin'
  16. Hide Away
  17. Sweet Home Chicago