Album Details

May 29, 2012
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Country-Rock, Soft Rock, Folk-Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Album Rock, Jam Bands, AM Pop

Album Review

Playlist: The Very Best of Dr. Hook & the Medicine Show feature 14 songs from the laid-back country rockers, including three cuts from the group's 1971 debut, a pair from 1973's Belly Up!, one each from 1975's and 1976's post-Medicine Show releases Bankrupt and A Little Bit More, respectively, and pretty much all of 1972's Sloppy Seconds. For the most part, listeners are just looking for the band's signature hit, the Shel Silverstein-penned "Cover of the Rolling Stone," but Playlist works in all of the group's most notable tracks, including "Sylvia's Mother" and "Freakin' at the Freakers' Ball."
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Freakin' at the Freakers' Ball
  2. Cover of the Rolling Stone
  3. Sylvia's Mother
  4. Only Sixteen
  5. A Little Bit More
  6. Life Ain't Easy
  7. Carry Me, Carrie
  8. The Things I Didn't Say
  9. You Ain't Got the Right
  10. I Call That True Love
  11. Makin' It Natural
  12. If I'd Only Come and Gone
  13. Get My Rocks Off
  14. Queen of the Silver Dollar