Album Details

DCC Compact Classics
Rhythm & Blues, Philly Soul, Soul, Adult Contemporary, Pop-Soul, Smooth Soul, Urban, Quiet Storm, Disco, Funk, Early Pop/Rock, Psychedelic Soul

Album Review

DCC's Groove On, Vol. 1 contains a selection of ten seductive or stylish soul, disco and urban-pop tunes from the '70s. There's not much rhyme or reason behind the featured tunes, but with the Emotions' "Best of My Love," the Spinners & Dionne Warwick's "Then Came You," Tavares' "It Only Takes a Minute" and the Isley Brothers' "Harvest for the World," there's really nothing that would qualify as weak. Since there's nothing tying the songs together outside of their era, Groove On winds up being nothing more than a sampler. But it's a really enjoyable sampler, nonetheless.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. September
  2. Best of My Love
  3. Then Came You
  4. Gimme Some Time
  5. It Only Takes a Minute
  6. Got to Love Somebody
  7. Emotions
  8. You Know How to Love Me
  9. Sweet Somebody
  10. Harvest for the World