Album Details

June 03, 1997
Jazz, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, Hard Bop, Vibraphone/Marimba Jazz

Album Review

Locke applies his vibraphone skills, with the help of Billy Childs (piano), Rufus Reid (bass), and Gene Jackson (drums), to nine movie selections ranging from the almost-obvious "Tara's Theme" from Gone With the Wind to "Laura" from the movie of the same name. The arrangements are pleasant, though neither startling nor overly fresh, and the album is nice to listen to, unintrusive, and, ultimately, effective mind candy.
Steven McDonald, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The English Patient [From the English Patient]
  2. Theme from M*A*S*H (Suicide Is Painless)
  3. The Rainbow Connection [From the Muppet Movie]
  4. Sound of Silence [From The Graduate]
  5. Laura [From Laura]
  6. The Shadow of Your Smile [From the Sandpiper]
  7. In the Sky (Poison d'Amour)
  8. Maturity [From Cinema Paradiso]
  9. Tara's Theme from "Gone With the Wind"