Album Details

November 28, 1995
Jazz, Post-Bop

Album Review

Joanne Brackeen's concert at the Contemporary Art Center may not have gotten wide distribution and exposure, but it is one of her best releases. With a capable rhythm section including bassist Ira Coleman and drummer Tony Reedus, she gives an audience their money's worth and more. Her intricate approach to "(There Is) No Greater Love," a soft dramatic "Darn That Dream," and an adventurous "Caravan" are all very impressive. Among her originals are the quirky dissonant blues "Power Talk" and the brief abstract finale "Cosmic Ties And Mud Pies." This CD is worth the extra effort to acquire.
Ken Dryden, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. There Is No Greater Love
  2. Picasso
  3. My Funny Valentine
  4. Just One of Those Things
  5. Darn That Dream
  6. Caravan
  7. Power Talk
  8. Cosmic Ties and Mud Pies