Album Details

January 27, 1998
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Motown, Soul, Dance-Pop, Quiet Storm, Disco, Funk

Album Review

Motown never tires of finding ways to repackage their history, but a 40th anniversary celebration is one of the better excuses they could have for releasing another multi-disc retrospective, such as the double-disc Motown 40 Forever. Unfortunately, devoting the first disc to classic '60s hits and isolating '80s and '90s singles works against the compilation -- it only illustrates that the first two decades of the label's history (particularly the very first decade) were much stronger creatively than the last two, especially since classic '70s singles are used on both discs. Taken individually, however, each disc is quite entertaining. The first contains such classics as "Shop Around," "Heat Wave," "My Guy," "I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)," "What Becomes of the Broken-Hearted," "ABC," "My Cherie Amour," "Stop! In the Name of Love," "What's Going On," "Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)," "Papa Was a Rollin' Stone," "Tears of a Clown," and "Dancing in the Street." It would have been nice if the disc was sequenced in chronological order, but it's still a blast. The second disc has its moments, too -- "Superfreak," "Let It Whip," "War," "Three Times a Lady," "Superstition," and "Let's Get It On" are terrific, while songs like "Rub You the Right Way" and "Somebody's Watching Me" are nice period pieces. The remix of the Jackson 5's "I Want You Back" is unnecessary, but it does little to dilute a thoroughly entertaining, if redundant, collection.
Leo Stanley, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Please Mr. Postman
  2. Shop Around
  3. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave
  4. My Guy
  5. Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing
  6. I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)
  7. Baby, I'm for Real
  8. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
  9. Keep on Truckin'
  10. ABC
  11. Stop! In the Name of Love
  12. My Cherie Amour
  13. Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)
  14. Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me)
  15. What's Going On
  16. Someday We'll Be Together
  17. Papa Was a Rollin' Stone
  18. I'll Be There
  19. Tears of a Clown
  20. When You Tell Me That You Love Me
  21. Dancing in the Street
  22. Super Freak
  23. Let It Whip
  24. Rub You the Right Way
  25. Let's Get Serious
  26. Fire and Desire
  27. Somebody's Watching Me
  28. My Girl
  29. War
  30. I'm Coming Out
  31. All Night Long (All Night)
  32. All This Love
  33. Three Times a Lady
  34. I Love Your Smile
  35. I'll Make Love to You
  36. Superstition
  37. Let's Get It On
  38. Him or Me
  39. Don't Look Any Further
  40. I Want You Back