Album Details

RELEASE
July 28, 1998
LABEL
SST
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Hardcore Punk, Punk/New Wave, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Punk, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, American Underground

Album Review

Along with such bands as Black Flag, Minor Threat, and the Circle Jerks, the Minutemen were one of the prominent underground punk bands of the early '80s, who helped pave the way for countless other bands who would soon follow. Although only a trio (the late, great D. Boon on vocals/guitar, bassist Mike Watt, and drummer George Hurley), the Minutemen were capable of creating quite an enjoyable racket, as evidenced from any one of the 35 tracks that comprise the 1998 career overview, Introducing the Minutemen. Although the band has ceased to exist since late 1985, after Boon died in an auto accident, they continue to be name-checked by new punk bands as a major influence. The majority of the tracks don't stretch past the two-minute mark (several not even past a minute), as the group specialized in succinct blasts of energetic punk -- "Definitions," "Fanatics," "Search," and so on. But toward the end of their career, the trio began to branch out musically -- "Corona" (which became the theme song for MTV's Jackass program), the surprisingly melodic "Price of Paradise," "This Ain't No Picnic," and "I Felt Like a Gringo." As the title suggests, Introducing the Minutemen serves as a perfect introduction to this notable '80s band.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Definitionshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/definitions/id117016805?i=117015036&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Joe McCarthy's Ghosthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/joe-mccarthys-ghost/id117016805?i=117015127&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Paranoid Chanthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/paranoid-chant/id117016805?i=117015145&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Searchhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/search/id117016805?i=117015158&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Punchlinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/introducing-the-minutemen/id117016805?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Fanaticshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fanatics/id117016805?i=117015285&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Straight Jackethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/straight-jacket/id117016805?i=117015295&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bob-dylan-wrote-propaganda/id117016805?i=117015358&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Fake Contesthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fake-contest/id117016805?i=117015400&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Anchorhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/anchor/id117016805?i=117015416&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Split Redhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/split-red/id117016805?i=117015512&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Life as a Rehearsalhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/life-as-a-rehearsal/id117016805?i=117015520&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Cuthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cut/id117016805?i=117015537&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Dream Told by Motohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dream-told-by-moto/id117016805?i=117015596&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. I Felt Like a Gringohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-felt-like-a-gringo/id117016805?i=117015719&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Political Song for Michael Jackson to Singhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/political-song-for-michael/id117016805?i=117015806&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Maybe Partying Will Helphttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maybe-partying-will-help/id117016805?i=117015830&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Toadieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/toadies/id117016805?i=117015934&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Coronahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/corona/id117016805?i=117016009&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. History Lesson, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/introducing-the-minutemen/id117016805?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. This Ain't No Picnichttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-aint-no-picnic/id117016805?i=117016057&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. King of the Hillhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/king-of-the-hill/id117016805?i=117016090&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. Tour-Spielhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/introducing-the-minutemen/id117016805?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  24. Price of Paradisehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/price-of-paradise/id117016805?i=117016225&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  25. Big Stickhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/big-stick/id117016805?i=117016280&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  26. Couragehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/courage/id117016805?i=117016282&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  27. Spoken Word Piecehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/spoken-word-piece/id117016805?i=117016303&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  28. Just Another Soldierhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/just-another-soldier/id117016805?i=117016318&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  29. If Reagan Played Discohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-reagan-played-disco/id117016805?i=117016368&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  30. Case Closedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/case-closed/id117016805?i=117016406&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  31. Futurism Restatedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/futurism-restated/id117016805?i=117016485&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  32. Joyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/joy/id117016805?i=117016487&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  33. Black Sheephttp://itunes.apple.com/album/black-sheep/id117016805?i=117016622&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  34. Badgeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/badges/id117016805?i=117016662&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  35. Party With Me Punkerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/party-with-me-punker/id117016805?i=117016684&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album