Album Details

RELEASE
July 28, 1998
LABEL
SST
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Hardcore Punk, Punk/New Wave, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Punk, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, American Underground

Album Review

Along with such bands as Black Flag, Minor Threat, and the Circle Jerks, the Minutemen were one of the prominent underground punk bands of the early '80s, who helped pave the way for countless other bands who would soon follow. Although only a trio (the late, great D. Boon on vocals/guitar, bassist Mike Watt, and drummer George Hurley), the Minutemen were capable of creating quite an enjoyable racket, as evidenced from any one of the 35 tracks that comprise the 1998 career overview, Introducing the Minutemen. Although the band has ceased to exist since late 1985, after Boon died in an auto accident, they continue to be name-checked by new punk bands as a major influence. The majority of the tracks don't stretch past the two-minute mark (several not even past a minute), as the group specialized in succinct blasts of energetic punk -- "Definitions," "Fanatics," "Search," and so on. But toward the end of their career, the trio began to branch out musically -- "Corona" (which became the theme song for MTV's Jackass program), the surprisingly melodic "Price of Paradise," "This Ain't No Picnic," and "I Felt Like a Gringo." As the title suggests, Introducing the Minutemen serves as a perfect introduction to this notable '80s band.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Definitionshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/definitions/id117016805?i=117015036&uo=5
  2. Joe McCarthy's Ghosthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/joe-mccarthys-ghost/id117016805?i=117015127&uo=5
  3. Paranoid Chanthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/paranoid-chant/id117016805?i=117015145&uo=5
  4. Searchhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/search/id117016805?i=117015158&uo=5
  5. Punchlinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/introducing-the-minutemen/id117016805?uo=5
  6. Fanaticshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fanatics/id117016805?i=117015285&uo=5
  7. Straight Jackethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/straight-jacket/id117016805?i=117015295&uo=5
  8. Bob Dylan Wrote Propaganda Songshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bob-dylan-wrote-propaganda/id117016805?i=117015358&uo=5
  9. Fake Contesthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fake-contest/id117016805?i=117015400&uo=5
  10. Anchorhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/anchor/id117016805?i=117015416&uo=5
  11. Split Redhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/split-red/id117016805?i=117015512&uo=5
  12. Life as a Rehearsalhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/life-as-a-rehearsal/id117016805?i=117015520&uo=5
  13. Cuthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/cut/id117016805?i=117015537&uo=5
  14. Dream Told by Motohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dream-told-by-moto/id117016805?i=117015596&uo=5
  15. I Felt Like a Gringohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-felt-like-a-gringo/id117016805?i=117015719&uo=5
  16. Political Song for Michael Jackson to Singhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/political-song-for-michael/id117016805?i=117015806&uo=5
  17. Maybe Partying Will Helphttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maybe-partying-will-help/id117016805?i=117015830&uo=5
  18. Toadieshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/toadies/id117016805?i=117015934&uo=5
  19. Coronahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/corona/id117016805?i=117016009&uo=5
  20. History Lesson, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/introducing-the-minutemen/id117016805?uo=5
  21. This Ain't No Picnichttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-aint-no-picnic/id117016805?i=117016057&uo=5
  22. King of the Hillhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/king-of-the-hill/id117016805?i=117016090&uo=5
  23. Tour-Spielhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/introducing-the-minutemen/id117016805?uo=5
  24. Price of Paradisehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/price-of-paradise/id117016805?i=117016225&uo=5
  25. Big Stickhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/big-stick/id117016805?i=117016280&uo=5
  26. Couragehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/courage/id117016805?i=117016282&uo=5
  27. Spoken Word Piecehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/spoken-word-piece/id117016805?i=117016303&uo=5
  28. Just Another Soldierhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/just-another-soldier/id117016805?i=117016318&uo=5
  29. If Reagan Played Discohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-reagan-played-disco/id117016805?i=117016368&uo=5
  30. Case Closedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/case-closed/id117016805?i=117016406&uo=5
  31. Futurism Restatedhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/futurism-restated/id117016805?i=117016485&uo=5
  32. Joyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/joy/id117016805?i=117016487&uo=5
  33. Black Sheephttp://itunes.apple.com/album/black-sheep/id117016805?i=117016622&uo=5
  34. Badgeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/badges/id117016805?i=117016662&uo=5
  35. Party With Me Punkerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/party-with-me-punker/id117016805?i=117016684&uo=5
purchase full album