Album Details

January 19, 1999
ASV/Living Era
Jazz, Swing, Dixieland, British Dance Bands, Jazz Instrument, Vocal Jazz, Trumpet Jazz

Album Review

British trumpeter Nathaniel Charles "Nat" Gonella (1908-1998) was posthumously honored in 1999 by the Living Era label with this excellent album containing 25 of his best performances recorded between 1931 and 1941. Initially a prominent member of bands led by Billy Cotton, Roy Fox, Ray Noble, and Lew Stone, his major influence was Louis Armstrong. Aside from "Oh Monah," recorded with Fox in 1931, everything heard here was originally issued under Gonella's name during his days with Decca (1932-1934), Parlophone (1934-1939), and Columbia (1940-1941). Because his first blush of popularity occurred as a result of his lovely rendition of Hoagy Carmichael's "Georgia on My Mind" (recorded with Fox in 1932), Gonella called his band the Georgians, and later the New Georgians. He recorded the song at least twice as a leader; the version that closes this anthology was waxed in January 1941. Adept as a vocalist, the trumpeter is splendidly featured here with a healthy quantity of instrumentals, including "Chicago," "I Want to Be Happy," "Bugle Call Rag," and a pair of original novelties: "Crazy Valves" and "Trumpetuous."
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Tiger Rag
  2. Oh Monah
  3. That's My Home
  4. Moon Country
  5. Troublesome Trumpet
  6. Nagasaki
  7. Black Coffee
  8. Chicago [Instrumental]
  9. Capri Caprice (Isle of Capri)
  10. I Want to Be Happy [Instrumental]
  11. Sweet Music Man
  12. The Music Goes 'Round and Around
  13. Singin' the Blues (Till My Daddy Comes Home) [Instrumental]
  14. Ride, Red, Ride
  15. Bugle Call Rag [Instrumental]
  16. Crazy Valves [Instrumental]
  17. Trumpetuous [Instrumental]
  18. He Ain't Got Rhythm
  19. All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
  20. I Can't Dance (I've Got Ants in My Pants)
  21. Jubilee
  22. Music, Maestro, Please!
  23. You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby
  24. Jeepers Creepers
  25. Georgia on My Mind
purchase full album