Album Details

Warner Bros.
Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, College Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock

Album Review

Throughout his career Elvis Costello has always been prolific; thus it was surprising, even given the change in record labels for the US, when he took a whole 20 months between Blood & Chocolate and this follow-up. But the musical growth he exhibits makes the wait worthwhile. The musical settings range from the stark folk of "Tramp the Dirt Down" to the pop sprightliness of "Veronica" (a collaboration with Paul McCartney that became Costello's first American Top 20 hit) and the New Orleans jazz sound of "Deep Dark Truthful Mirror," featuring the Dirty Dozen Brass Band. The lyrics are among his best.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. ...This Town...
  2. Let Him Dangle
  3. Deep Dark Truthful Mirror
  4. Veronica
  5. God's Comic
  6. Chewing Gum
  7. Tramp the Dirt Down
  8. Stalin Malone
  9. Satellite
  10. Pads, Paws and Claws
  11. Baby Plays Around
  12. Miss MacBeth
  13. Any King's Shilling
  14. Coal-Train Robberies
  15. Last Boat Leaving