Album Details

RELEASE
September 12, 2000
LABEL
MCA Nashville
GENRES
Country, Country-Pop, Traditional Country, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan

Album Review

Judging an artist on the basis of what hit the top of the charts can occasionally be a risky business, since it's not always true that the best material is the most popular. In the case of Conway Twitty, however, it's an excellent criteria, since over the course of nearly 30 years, the great majority of his singles did indeed reach the top of the chart, so winnowing down his catalog to just number one singles still gives an excellent overview of the scope and quality of Twitty's music, even if it leaves behind such classic sides as "I Wonder What She'll Think About Me Leaving," which peaked at a mere four. In fact, even though MCA Nashville/Decca's double-disc collection The #1 Hits Collection has 33 tracks, it doesn't even have all of his number one hits, largely because it cuts off in 1981, the last year he recorded for MCA, so even though this is quite extensive, it doesn't even have all of his chart-toppers! That said, it does have all the number ones from his late-'60s/'70s peak, when he was produced by Owen Bradley and dominated the country charts with his lush romantic ballads and duets with Loretta Lynn, four of which are included here. Yes, 1994's four-disc box set The Conway Twitty Collection fills in some gaps this leaves behind, but those are minor. All the major hits and songs are here, providing both an excellent summary and introduction to this country giant.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. It's Only Make Believehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-only-make-believe/id70275?i=70204&uo=5
  2. Next in Linehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/next-in-line/id70275?i=70206&uo=5
  3. I Love You More Todayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-love-you-more-today/id70275?i=70208&uo=5
  4. To See My Angel Cryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/to-see-my-angel-cry/id70275?i=70210&uo=5
  5. Hello Darlin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/hello-darlin/id70275?i=70212&uo=5
  6. Fifteen Years Agohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fifteen-years-ago/id70275?i=70214&uo=5
  7. After the Fire Is Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/after-the-fire-is-gone/id70275?i=70216&uo=5
  8. How Much More Can She Standhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/how-much-more-can-she-stand/id70275?i=70219&uo=5
  9. Lead Me Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lead-me-on/id70275?i=70221&uo=5
  10. (Lost Her Love) On Our Last Datehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lost-her-love-on-our-last-date/id70275?i=70224&uo=5
  11. I Can't Stop Loving Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cant-stop-loving-you/id70275?i=70226&uo=5
  12. She Needs Someone to Hold Her (When She Cries)http://itunes.apple.com/album/she-needs-someone-to-hold/id70275?i=70228&uo=5
  13. Louisiana Woman, Mississippi Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/louisiana-woman-mississippi/id70275?i=70230&uo=5
  14. You've Never Been This Far Beforehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youve-never-been-this-far/id70275?i=70233&uo=5
  15. There's a Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In)http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  16. As Soon as I Hang Up the Phonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/as-soon-as-i-hang-up-the-phone/id70275?i=70237&uo=5
  17. I See the Want in Your Eyeshttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  18. Linda on My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  19. Touch the Handhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  20. Feelins'http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  21. This Time I've Hurt Her More (Than She Loves Me)http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  22. After All the Good Is Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  23. The Games That Daddies Playhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  24. (I Can't Believe) She Gives It All to Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  25. Play Guitar Playhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  26. I've Already Loved You in My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  27. Don't Take It Awayhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  28. I May Never Get to Heavenhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  29. Happy Birthday Darlin'http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  30. I'd Love to Lay You Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  31. Rest Your Love on Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  32. Tight Fittin' Jeanshttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
  33. Red Neckin' Love Makin' Nighthttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275
purchase full album