Album Details

RELEASE
September 12, 2000
LABEL
MCA Nashville
GENRES
Country, Country-Pop, Traditional Country, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan

Album Review

Judging an artist on the basis of what hit the top of the charts can occasionally be a risky business, since it's not always true that the best material is the most popular. In the case of Conway Twitty, however, it's an excellent criteria, since over the course of nearly 30 years, the great majority of his singles did indeed reach the top of the chart, so winnowing down his catalog to just number one singles still gives an excellent overview of the scope and quality of Twitty's music, even if it leaves behind such classic sides as "I Wonder What She'll Think About Me Leaving," which peaked at a mere four. In fact, even though MCA Nashville/Decca's double-disc collection The #1 Hits Collection has 33 tracks, it doesn't even have all of his number one hits, largely because it cuts off in 1981, the last year he recorded for MCA, so even though this is quite extensive, it doesn't even have all of his chart-toppers! That said, it does have all the number ones from his late-'60s/'70s peak, when he was produced by Owen Bradley and dominated the country charts with his lush romantic ballads and duets with Loretta Lynn, four of which are included here. Yes, 1994's four-disc box set The Conway Twitty Collection fills in some gaps this leaves behind, but those are minor. All the major hits and songs are here, providing both an excellent summary and introduction to this country giant.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. It's Only Make Believehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-only-make-believe/id70275?i=70204&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Next in Linehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/next-in-line/id70275?i=70206&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. I Love You More Todayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-love-you-more-today/id70275?i=70208&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. To See My Angel Cryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/to-see-my-angel-cry/id70275?i=70210&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Hello Darlin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/hello-darlin/id70275?i=70212&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Fifteen Years Agohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/fifteen-years-ago/id70275?i=70214&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. After the Fire Is Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/after-the-fire-is-gone/id70275?i=70216&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. How Much More Can She Standhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/how-much-more-can-she-stand/id70275?i=70219&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Lead Me Onhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lead-me-on/id70275?i=70221&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. (Lost Her Love) On Our Last Datehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lost-her-love-on-our-last-date/id70275?i=70224&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. I Can't Stop Loving Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cant-stop-loving-you/id70275?i=70226&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. She Needs Someone to Hold Her (When She Cries)http://itunes.apple.com/album/she-needs-someone-to-hold/id70275?i=70228&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Louisiana Woman, Mississippi Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/louisiana-woman-mississippi/id70275?i=70230&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. You've Never Been This Far Beforehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youve-never-been-this-far/id70275?i=70233&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. There's a Honky Tonk Angel (Who Will Take Me Back In)http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  16. As Soon as I Hang Up the Phonehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/as-soon-as-i-hang-up-the-phone/id70275?i=70237&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. I See the Want in Your Eyeshttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  18. Linda on My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  19. Touch the Handhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  20. Feelins'http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  21. This Time I've Hurt Her More (Than She Loves Me)http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  22. After All the Good Is Gonehttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  23. The Games That Daddies Playhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  24. (I Can't Believe) She Gives It All to Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  25. Play Guitar Playhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  26. I've Already Loved You in My Mindhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  27. Don't Take It Awayhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  28. I May Never Get to Heavenhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  29. Happy Birthday Darlin'http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  30. I'd Love to Lay You Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  31. Rest Your Love on Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  32. Tight Fittin' Jeanshttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
  33. Red Neckin' Love Makin' Nighthttp://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?uo=5&id=70275&at=11l9vR
purchase full album