Album Details

September 05, 2000
Sony Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, East Coast Rap, Heavy Metal, Alternative Rap, Hardcore Rap, Funk Metal, Alternative Metal, Rap-Metal, Rap-Rock

Album Review

Loud Rocks is a collection of songs by rap acts on the Loud label -- most prominently the Wu-Tang Clan, but also Tha Alkaholiks, Xzibit, Mobb Deep, Big Punisher, and Dead Prez -- who've been paired up with popular hard rock and heavy metal artists à la the Judgment Night soundtrack. Most of the latter group comes from the alternative-metal world (System of a Down, Incubus, and Sevendust, most notably), but there are a few acts already fusing rap with rock (Shootyz Groove, Everlast), some veterans (Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Sick of It All), and a poppier collaboration between Tha Alkaholiks and Sugar Ray. Like most projects of this nature, not everything hits the mark -- some pairings feel forced and a few lack that spark of collaborative interplay -- but the overall quality of the Loud roster ensures that most of what's here is at least listenable. And a lot of it is much better than that, some tracks offering new interpretations of old songs, others presenting a surprising range of distinctive approaches to the rap-rock form. It isn't without flaws, but overall, Loud Rocks is pretty successful.
Steve Huey, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Shame
  2. Make Room
  3. Hip Hop
  4. Los Angeles Times
  5. Shook Ones, Pt. 2
  6. Wu-Tang Clan Ain't Nuthing ta F' Wit
  7. Only When I'm Drunk
  8. What U See Is What U Get
  9. How Bout Some Hardcore
  10. For Heaven's Sake 2000
  11. Caribbean Connection
  12. Survival of the Fittest
  13. Still Not a Player