Album Details

November 25, 2003
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Grunge, Third Wave Ska Revival, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Ska-Punk, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

Released as a companion piece to No Doubt's presumably career-capping collection The Singles 1992-2003 (career-capping only if Gwen Stefani's solo career as a singer and actress does indeed take off), Boom Box appears to be a generous gift to their fans, a four-disc retrospective divided into two CDs and two DVDs. Unfortunately, appearances can be deceiving, and Boom Box isn't as carefully assembled as the singles collection, which is included as part of this set. Part of the problem is the packaging: the set is housed in a CD-sized box, with individual discs presented in cardboard sleeves -- a good idea, yet the construction feels as if it was done on the cheap, particularly since the flat grey-silver coloring doesn't look as classy as intended. But that's not what makes the box a mixed blessing; no, the real problem with the set is the conceit behind its construction. It seems that the idea behind Boom Box is that not only will hardcore No Doubt fans want a DVD of the videos, a DVD of their 1997 Live in the Tragic Kingdom home video, and a CD of B-sides and rarities, they'll want it all at once and, not only that, they'd be the only ones who would want any of this material. Consequently, this package is a little frustrating, particularly for those who would only want the DVD of the music videos -- since if they pay full price for that one disc, they'll be frustrated that the DVD doesn't have any special features, not even a 5.1 audio mix. Fortunately, the other half of Boom Box is very good -- the separately available The Singles proves what a dynamic singles band No Doubt was, while the B-sides and rarities disc has some good cuts, songs that hold their own with album tracks from their respective albums even if they're not as good as the singles. For the true fan, that rarities disc and the DVD are certainly worth having, and the live show is fine, even if it isn't particularly noteworthy. So, Boom Box does wind up as something worthwhile for the fans.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Just a Girl
  2. It's My Life
  3. Hey Baby
  4. Bathwater
  5. Sunday Morning
  6. Hella Good
  7. New
  8. Underneath It All
  9. Excuse Me Mr.
  10. Running
  11. Spiderwebs
  12. Simple Kind of Life
  13. Don't Speak
  14. Ex-Girlfriend
  15. Trapped in a Box
  16. Running [Multimedia Track]
  17. Underneath It All [Multimedia Track]
  18. Hella Good [Multimedia Track]
  19. Hey Baby [Multimedia Track]
  20. Bathwater [Multimedia Track]
  21. Simple Kind of Life [Multimedia Track]
  22. Ex-Girlfriend [Multimedia Track]
  23. New
  24. Oi to the World [Multimedia Track]
  25. Sunday Morning [Multimedia Track]
  26. Excuse Me Mr. [Multimedia Track]
  27. Don't Speak [Multimedia Track]
  28. Spiderwebs [Multimedia Track]
  29. Just a Girl [Multimedia Track]
  30. Trapped in a Box [Multimedia Track]
  31. Big Distraction
  32. Leftovers
  33. Under Construction
  34. Beauty Contest
  35. Full Circle
  36. Cellophane Boy
  37. Everything in Time [#][Outtake]
  38. You're So Foxy [#][Outtake]
  39. Panic [#][Outtake]
  40. New Friend [#][Outtake]
  41. Everything in Time [#][Outtake]
  42. Sailin' On
  43. Oi to the World
  44. I Throw My Toys Around
  45. New & Approved [New Remix]
  46. A Real Love Survives [Rock Steady Remix][#]
  47. A Rock Steady Vibe [Rock Steady Remix][#]
  48. Tragic Kingdom [Live]
  49. Excuse Me Mr. [Live]
  50. Different People [Live]
  51. Happy Now? [Live]
  52. D.J.'s [Live]
  53. End It on This [Live]
  54. Just a Girl [Live]
  55. The Climb [Live]
  56. Total Hate [Live]
  57. Hey You [Live]
  58. The Imperial March [Live]
  59. Move On [Live]
  60. Don't Speak [Live]
  61. Sunday Morning [Live]
  62. Spiderwebs [Live]
  63. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da [Live]
purchase full album