Album Details

May 11, 2004
Federal Records
Country, Traditional Country, Honky Tonk

Album Review

West Virginian Harold Franklin Hawkins signed a contract with Cincinnati, Ohio's King Records in 1948, and his first two singles for the label, the chugging two-step "Pan American" and the delightfully ramshackle "Dog House Boogie," both released under the name Hawkshaw Hawkins, went top ten on the country charts. Hawkins remained with King until 1953, when he departed for stays at RCA and Columbia before returning to King in the early 1960s. His 1962 recording of "Lonesome 7-7203" hit number one on the country charts a year later, but Hawkins didn't live to see it. He perished in the same plane crash that took the lives of fellow country stars Patsy Cline and Cowboy Copas on March 5, 1963. This collection has all three of his main hits and a few other interesting tracks from his time at King, but it has an extremely short running time. A more extensive single disc compilation of his King years, I'm a Rattlesnakin' Daddy: The King Anthology 1946-1963, was issued by Westside Records in 2000, while the Bear Family's Hawk covers his RCA and Columbia years.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Lonesome 7-7203
  2. Dog House Boogie
  3. Slow Poke
  4. I'm Waiting Just for You
  5. I Love You a Thousand Ways
  6. Pan American
  7. I Wasted a Nickel
  8. Life Story of Hank Williams
  9. Barbara Allen
  10. Sunny Side of the Mountain
purchase full album