Album Details

February 28, 2006
Latin, Tropicalia, Samba, Brazilian Traditions, MPB, Brazilian Pop

Album Review

It's difficult to imagine that a single CD could contain a proper introduction to an artist as mercurial as Milton Nascimento. The years he spent with the EMI-Odeon label were his first forays as a solo artist. While it's true his debut album, Courage, preceded these years, his definition as an artist began with EMI-Odeon. Between these years he recorded nine albums -- some of which were issued in the United States on A&M -- including the masterpieces Clube da Esquina and Clube da Esquina 2, Geraes, Milagre Dos Peixes, and Minas, which has been reissued by Water in the 21st century. The sequencing of this set, Essential Collection: The Best of the EMI Odeon Years (1969-78), on the Nascente label, takes an interesting approach. Things are codified and placed in aesthetic rather than chronological order, essentially creating a new album from the compilation of songs. The hits are here -- "Travessia," "Minas," "San Vicente," "Nada Sera Comos Antes," as well as some gorgeous misses. The Essential Collection could have been titled "The Essential Introduction" without being remiss at all.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Que Bon, Amigo
  2. Travessia
  3. O Que Será (À Flor Da Pele)
  4. Beco Do Mota
  5. Para Lennon e McCartney
  6. Minas
  7. Olho d'Agua
  8. Clube Da Esquina
  9. Nada Será Como Antes
  10. Nascente
  11. Clube Da Esquina No. 2
  12. Ponta de Areia
  13. San Vicente
  14. Carlos, Lucia, Chico e Tiago
  15. Simples
  16. Sentinela
  17. Minas Geraes
  18. Cais