Album Details

Pop/Rock, Rockabilly, Rock & Roll

Album Review

In the late '50s and early '60s, Ronnie Hawkins was one of the few rock & rollers committed to performing and recording unapologetic rockabilly while others were returning to their country roots or going the teen-idol route. This 18-song compilation focuses mostly on his initial burst of activity for Roulette in 1959 and 1960, with a few later odds and ends thrown in. While he deserves respect for keeping the torch of rock & roll's roots burning during some of its leaner years, he didn't match the greatness of rockabilly's kingpins. His voice and performance were energetic but not brilliant; his material was a bit pedestrian. The best of these tunes are "Mary Lou" (his sole Top 30 hit), "Forty Days" (an update of Chuck Berry's "Thirty Days"), and "One of These Days" (later covered by the Searchers). What he's really known for, of course, is giving a bunch of mostly Canadian kids their start as his backing band, the Hawks. A later edition of the Hawks eventually toured with Bob Dylan and evolved into the Band. Only two of these songs, though, feature that lineup (the 1963 single "Bo Diddley"/"Who Do You Love"). On "Who Do You Love" especially, Robbie Robertson lets rip with a roaring solo that's a good few years ahead of its time in its manic distorted intensity. It's by far the most exciting track on this compilation of a respectable but minor performer from rock's early days.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Thirty Days [#]
  2. Forty Days
  3. Mary Lou
  4. Wild Little Willy
  5. Oh Sugar [*]
  6. One of These Days
  7. Dizzy Miss Lizzy [*]
  8. Odessa
  9. Sick and Tired
  10. Baby Jean
  11. Come Love [*]
  12. Hey Boba Lou [*]
  13. Ruby Baby
  14. Bo Diddley
  15. Clara
  16. I Feel Good
  17. Who Do You Love?
  18. Down in the Alley