Album Details

Razor & Tie
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Arena Rock, Punk/New Wave, Rock & Roll, New Wave, Power Pop

Album Review

Donnie Iris emerged fronting his own band in the late '70s after stints with the Jaggerz and Wild Cherry. Hailing from western Pennsylvania, Iris became a popular live draw before signing with MCA and releasing his debut record, Back on the Streets (later reissued by Razor & Tie), on which Iris had worked closely with Mark Avsec, who co-wrote, produced, and played keyboards. Back on the Streets is a blend of meat-and-potatoes rock and new wave, which succeeds due to its simple nature and some infectious hooks. The big hit was "Ah! Leah!," which, with its throbbing bassline and crunchy riffs, climbed to number 29, but there's more here. Other choice cuts include the finger-snapping melody "I Can't Hear You" and the barroom love song "Agnes," which owes a debt to the Spencer Davis Group hit "Gimme Some Lovin'."
Tom Demalon, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ah! Leah!
  2. I Can't Hear You
  3. Joking
  4. Shock Treatment
  5. Back on the Streets
  6. Agnes
  7. You're Only Dreaming
  8. She's So Wild
  9. Daddy Don't Live Here Anymore
  10. Too Young to Love