Artist Details

Donna the Buffalo

Rootsy folk-rock sextet Donna the Buffalo formed in 1987 in Ithaca, NY. The group's three vocalists -- Tara Nevins, who also plays fiddle, guitar, and accordion; guitarist Jeb Puryear; and keyboardist Joe Thrift -- add another layer of diversity to the group's eclectic and often socially conscious sound. Guitarist Jim Miller, drummer Tom Gilbert, and bassist Jed Greenberg complete the ensemble. Donna the Buffalo started touring almost immediately after they formed, and they continue to do extensively. The group is a regular attraction at festivals like Merlefest and Telluride, and has also shared the stage with likeminded artists such as 10,000 Maniacs, Los Lobos, and Rusted Root.